What’s your DAW approach? Stick to one or mix and match?

Anyone happily using more than one DAW?

Has anyone tried it and failed, and gone back to using just one?

Curious to hear people’s thoughts, particularly from people who use more than one DAW and feel like it helps productivity…

Asking because I’ve been using Ableton for 2 years after switching from Logic… and Logic coming out for iPad is tempting now, which would make sense to use my desktop version again.

My ‘productivity instinct’ says stick to Ableton and hope for an iOS Live down the line… :sunglasses:

For the last 4-5 years I’ve been doing most things in Ableton but still have Reaper, Studio One and FLStudio installed for somethings plus Cakewalk by Bandlab installed on my laptop incase I want to open an old project.

I bounce around daws on iOS but on Mac I’ve always been ableton. Tried few others but keep coming back to ableton straight away

I’ve used Logic the longest, but have been spending a lot of time in Ableton recently. I feel like they work well together for my workflow. For more linear music and recording acoustic instruments, I prefer Logic for the tracking aspects of thing. If I’m shooting for more creative sessions, Ableton is a lot of fun and ideas always pop up. At the end of things, Logic is a more natural place for me to mix as I come from a mixing desk back ground and I like to setup a lot of bussing which I find easy to accomplish in Logic.

There’s probably a lot of functionality in Ableton I don’t grasp simply because it’s far more new to me.

I have Bitwig, but find Ableton a little easier for me for some reason. I also just love the endless mountains of content.

1 Like

I’ve been using Cubase for over 20 years and never felt the need to try anything else

3 Likes