What to get with €3000,- budget for workshops

What’s going on elektronauts?

I’m planning to start giving electronic jam session workshops for small groups (ages 13 and up) at a creative breeding ground we’re starting up here in the Netherlands.

I need to make a financial plan of a setup which can accommodate up to 6 students. Budget is around €3000,-.

Wondering what you guys would get for something like this.

Remember the students might have no prior experience making music at all.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

Cheers!
Chu

2 Likes

I often think about this as I’m a High School teacher and the thing that comes to my mind is getting Elektron Model:Cycles and Model:Samples. The students provide their own Headphones.

Edit : make a show at the end with students compositions.

5 Likes

Omg im also dreaming about making something like that! A music hangout place.

MS20 is in my opinion the easiest synth to understand and make it sound good. With a ton of creative ways to use it, for those who want more. Mini re-issue is budget friendly.

You definitely want to include a big mixer and a set of monitors in your budget, so that students can play together.

2 Likes

@chu then @Tchu. Chu-tchu!

Serious answer. A Roland boutique each, covering drums and synths. Dead simple. Can be synched nicely. Classic sounds to jam with. All the fundamentals of subtractive synthesis covered. And most importantly, very fun!

5 Likes

Lol. I did notice it too.

1 Like

Consider making three complete systems and having the students pair up. Not only can you spend up to €1000 on each, permitting a lot more scope, but the students have to learn how to communicate and work together. This requires some advance prep (handouts with guidelines and suggestions, constant vigilance on your part) but can really pay off. Pairs should rotate, depending on how long one session is and how many sessions there are.