Write protection / error

I’m a guitarist who has purchased the new Digitakt. I’ve played with this amazing machine for a few hours now, but I can’t seem to understand how I can be able to save a custom pattern as a file to retrieve later. When I enter the pattern menu and save, an “N/A write protected” screen appears. Also, if I hold the function key and the save pattern key an error message appears. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong.

You’re not doing anything wrong - this is because you are in the default factory demo project, which is write protected! It tripped me up as well… :slight_smile:

press the settings button (cogwheel icon), PROJECT > SAVE PROJECT AS. Choose an empty slot. Press yes, enter name, done.

It’s best not to work in that write-protected default project, as it will be restored to default whenever you do a factory reset.

You can also set your own projects to write-protected if you want… look up ‘manage projects’ in the manual…

12 Likes

Thanks. I’m now ready to make some music!

2 Likes

empty reset deletes everything except for the stock samples if im not mistaken.

at least, i did an empty reset and still got the factory samples

Not sure which bank are write protected but im currently working on A01 and its perfectly writable.

Same goes for all the rest.

Those that answer your question somehow?

1 Like

But will I get the demo-patterns and sounds back when I factory reset the machine?

Think this was the case with the othe Elektron machines?

Hello,
I experienced also the same issue with my new unit (OS 1.08), and wasn’t able to save my patterns on Project 1 (actually I don’t know how I managed to save pattern 1, but then with pattern 2 I’ve got the “NA: write protected” message).
To solve this I had to remove the lock from Project 1, and then re-save it. After doing this, now I’m able to save my patterns.

1 Like

Hello,
I recently got my Digitakt but I cannot save anything.