Your most unused synth?

There is a Japanese word : Tsundoku that means , The art of buying more books than you can read . I wonder if there is a word for the art of buying more synths than you can use ( or afford) . Maybe it’s called GAS.

So what is your most unused synth that you have but you don’t want to sell it (or you can’t) . The one that sits quietly somewhere in your studio and you don’t use it anymore. But is nice to look at it or just have it.

I don’t have so many synths and I’m new to this . For me is my Korg ms2000b. And the next one will be the Typhon . Also Td3 I would like to use it more , but I always forget how to program it.

6 Likes

Volca Modular

Previously FS1r

I’m of the Umberto Eco school on Tsundoku for books.

5 Likes

Bastl Kastle.

The smaller they are the less guilt I feel about having them laying around unused

3 Likes

Roland SH-1, mostly because it is so big for what it does and the PWM doesn’t work that well any more… but I should dig it out at some point because it does sound so very good.

1 Like

Haha nice!

As Eco says do they define us ?

1 Like

The Roland TB-3.
It’s collecting dust on my shelf because I find it unusable and useless.

1 Like

Modal Skulpt. It died for no apparent reason right after the warranty ran out. It’s now an expensive paper weight.

Other than that, my original Uno Synth. I use it pretty often, but my Digitone is my most used synth with my Uno Synth Pro as a distant second.

It’s a pretty small operation over here.

4 Likes

Kawai K1 II.

3 Likes

A stylophone.

Closely followed by a Chimera BC16 which I can’t be bothered to make a PSU adaptor for.

(The BC16 can be battery powered, or takes 5v from a normally unused pin on the MIDI IN socket. My eyesight’s rubbish so I feel great anxiety at the idea of soldering a bespoke cable. I have a 2.1mm barrel socket in a shopping cart open in another tab that I can’t bring myself to pay for…)

1 Like

Casio VL-1.