Calling all travelers: making money on the road

Anybody here manage to make money while traveling? If so, do you have to sell your soul to peddle Chinese goods on Amazon? 'Cus that ain’t me.

Just curious because I am getting some wanderlust having never traveled. I’ve barely left my state, I barely leave my town!

I studied some engineering at Uni but left because it’s just so dull to me. I built computers in early childhood and romanticized sitting at a desk coding. I am considering, if I can still use my grants and it would therefore be free, to return for a useless online English degree while I’m traveling to improve my writing abilities and learn more about classical literature. At this point in my life, nothing particularly interests me besides things that you don’t go to college for: traditional woodworking, blacksmithing, luthiery (building flamenco guitars), permaculture… If I could move to the country my life would be dead simple.

Deep down I’m almost seeking discipline and structure to tackle novels I would otherwise avoid, I have a fascination with what people have penned directly from their mind, their time in history, their experiences… Reading novels from the dead feels lucid and grounded. Perhaps I have a desire to couple writing with photography and music. I’ve realized recently I don’t particularly like film. It leaves nothing to the imagination, you’re already given everything. I don’t know… Still soul searching. A little off topic.

Any of you travel and get part-time or seasonal jobs in the places you travel?

This would be tough for me because I’m already a weird loner introvert to begin with in my home country. The closest I get to parties anymore is throwing on headphones and people watching or sitting in nature preserves.

Or, is all of this fantastical? I’m sure the safe bet is just save those big ones before leaving and when you start to feel the squeeze, head back home.

4 Likes