Comparison of AD DA converters

I am studying from forums, since I live in Costa Rica, without the possibility of testing gears in person.

I was originally interested in Lynx Aurora N. Then I saw comparisons in quality with RedLine 16T, then someone recommended me an RME MADIface USB connected to Avid / Euphonix AM-713 and AM-703 (cheap, used on sites like ebay or reverb). This last option was even said that, although many would not think the same, there are people who prefer them to a Lynx Aurora.

Basically I want the best possible quality, if I chose a cheaper option I wouldn’t be sacrificing sound quality and converters. What do you think? Thanks.

Unless you plan on using AD/DA for mastering compression, limiting, and EQ then you can’t hear the difference. Most interfaces in the last 7 years have gotten to a high level of quality for a good price. More expensive isn’t always better. If you plan on just tracking your synths and drum machines then anything will work. Save your money for more noise making devices instead of the Internet forum noise.

7 Likes

Yes, I plan to buy later a summing mixer, a rupert neve master bus portico and some equalizer. Because I live here I will have to produce, mix and master everything I compose and play.

Then make the investment on something that has a dynamic range of -121dB or higher with a. Soft clip option. I have the Neve MBP and it’s so easy to hit the red sometimes. It’s like putting your foot on the pedal lightly and going 160kmph in 8 seconds.

1 Like

What converters do you recommend? I’m going to need at least 16 analog inputs, minimum.

If you are tracking then any interface will do.

Once you need to do the AD/DA loop for your final master then you will need the mastering AD/DA.

Universal Audio Apollo X6
ADI-2 Pro FS
Lynx Hilo