Digitakt Bank Problems

I can see there are already a few posts concerning this topic but, maybe I’m just a little too stupid to understand them. I’m a complete NOOB with Elektron Hardware.

When I first plugged in my Midi instruments to the Digi, both Bank and Program changes worked like a dream. I installed the latest update 1.0.4. and now the Banks won’t change I’m left with just the Program changes.

Again I do apologize for being simple here but none of the other posts made much sense to me.

PLEASE HELP!

i usually

click digitakt forum group/heading or whatever its called .
click on magnifying glass (top right ish).
type in the most obvious heading to start with , i.e ‘bank’

https://www.elektronauts.com/search?q=bank%20category%3A44

it looks like a known issue with a work around…more info in the threads though…

The Tetra (like many other DSI, Clavia, Waldorf, Novation etc synths) only needs MIDI CC number 32 for Bank Select to work, whereas the Octatrack and Digitakt (apparently, from this topic) only send half of the MIDI Bank Select message (MIDI CC number 0), and not the half that the Tetra needs.

2 Likes

Could you describe your setup and what you are trying to achieve in a little more detail, please?

On my Blofeld the bank change only works if I then program change after that, like it catches up or something. Also I had lots of issues with it constantly changing the program and patch for no apparent reason, so I turned everything but notes of for now. I do hope they get the midi solid on this…

The MIDI Bank Select message only works if a Program Change message is sent immediately after the Bank Select message. Bank Select, on its own without a Program Change, should not work according to the MIDI standard.

The Digitakt will send MIDI Program Change messages when it changes its pattern, if configured to do so. Could that have caused the program changes on your Blofeld?

2 Likes