Digitakt Midi Question (Absolute Beginner)

Peace!
I am an absolute beginner to the midi world. The language of midi has always intimidated me. But since I’ve recently bought my first synth, Grandmother Moog, I’ve decided to give it a try.

I want my Digitakt to control and sequence the GM. I have a midi cable plugged into the GM MIDI In and the Digitakt’s MIDI OUT Sync A. I have both set to channel 1. And I selected clock recieve in the settings. But I am not getting anything.

Am I missing something?

2 Likes

If you’re certain the GM is listening on channel 1, select MIDI track A (Trig 9) on the DT and press the SRC button. The first box CHAN by default has an X. Press and hold FUNC then push the A knob. This enables the channel parameter. Turn it until it says 1 (or whatever the device you want to control is listening on). Now when you press the 9 Trig it will send the note on Trig page (C5 by default). Press Func+Trk to enter chromatic mode to play different notes.

One thing you didn’t mention is how is your audio routed? Are you going into a mixer? MIDI does not carry audio so you’ll need to have the GM audio out plugged into something (mixer, interface)

3 Likes

I’m not using any mixer. Maybe thats the problem? I’m just using my headphones which are connected to the digitakt.

Everything else you’ve mentioned I’ve triple checked.

That worked. Have my headphones connected to the GM and can hear when im in chromatic mode on the DT. I was under the impression that midi sends audio. Ill have to invest in a mixer so that i can hear my 8 main tracks plus my midi channels.

Thank you!

2 Likes

You can also send the audio out of the GM into the audio in of the Digitakt and monitor it through the sample recorder. This way, you will always be ready to record the audio sequences from the GM into the Digitakt and it’s also a way of hearing both devices.

3 Likes

Thanks!

1 Like