Digitone & Midi Keyboard

Hi, Im new to the Elektron world and having some difficulty getting my rig to work the way I would like. Im hoping its possible and would appreciate any help. I know its a lot to ask but please respond with step by step instructions.

So my set is a Moog Matriarch and an Elektron Digitone connected via two Midi cables. What I’d like to do is:

1. Set up my Matriarch as a midi controller. Then select track 1 on my Digitone, select a sound and use my Matriarch to record notes into the sequencer. Once I have something on track 1, I’d like to select track 2, select a new sound and again use the Matriarch to record notes into the sequencer. Same for tracks 3-4. When played, the Digitone plays the sounds.

2. Set up sequences on tracks 1-4 using the Digitone trigs or using the Martriarch and when played, the Matriarch’s plays the sounds.

Many thanks.

Hiya & welcome

First I’d set up the Digitone
Each digitone track responds to a different midi channel (by default these are channels 1-4) and the digitone MIDI tracks by default respond to MIDI information on channels 5-8.

To do what you want to do you should use the digitone “auto midi channel” which by default is set to channel 10 - if you go into the Settings menu, then MIDI config, then channels you can check or change all of these settings.

The auto channel will transmit incoming MIDI information on that channel to whichever digitone track is currently selected.

Next, set the matriarch MIDI OUT channel to output MIDI data on channel 10 (or whatever you have chosen as the digitone auto channel), and the matriarch MIDI IN channel to channel 5, which allows the matriarch to receive MIDI information from the digitone MIDI track 1.

Finally, if you turn the matriarch’s local keyboard control OFF, it won’t send any keyboard information directly to the synth, only via MIDI - so if you have a digitone track selected it won’t play the matriarch at all.