Drawing Manga

Any manga artists on here?
I’m just starting out as a way to re-connect with old hobbies to help with anxiety and trying to switch off from work stress. Been taking some tips from the internet and the book ‘Manga for the beginner’ by Chris Hart.

I’m a complete beginner, today was the first attempt at sketching a face without any copying. Fairly pleased for a 5 min job, eyebrows a bit chunky maybe.
I’d love some tips and hints for how to improve!

14 Likes

Chunky eyebrows work for Gorillaz!

I would say the design is great, and if you are looking to “improve” then it would be shading. It can make or break a drawing.

Here is some stuff from my fine arts degree.

In the hands, you can see, the line work is so so, but the hand in front is shaded and fleshed out way more.

8 Likes

I know it isn’t manga, but that doesn’t really matter. Drawing is drawing, and yours looks great.

Also. Try half tone shading. It’s a cool effect that’s used in manga a lot.

1 Like

Thanks @BLKrbbt!
I really like the middle drawing you posted there, captures an expression well.

Yes, I’ve been practising shading on some other pics I’ve copied freehand, it makes a big difference on hair especially

2 Likes

Here is what I would recommend… I would get used to pushing and pulling tones out of your work… What I mean, is cover EVERY part with some pencil, even if its really light… then after its all covered, go back over with an eraser to make it white again…

but treat the eraser like a pencil in itself… and use a white plastic eraser… like a Staedler…I forgot how to spell it…

because the hair looks wonderful, but then the contrast to the neck is too severe… a light shading on the edges on the neck under the hair would really make the face pop more too…

not criticising! just trying to help!

great work… and keep drawing… also, don’t spend too much on one drawing… its btter to take the time to make multiple drawings… the fidelity will come naturally…