Help with Digitakt as a stand alone sampler + BSP

Hi,
newbie here, I’ve just got back on the horse of making electronic music and I’ve recently bought a Digitakt and I am in the process of trying to figure it out. What i’m trying to do to get started is to use it just as a sampler/ drum machine and use the Beat step pro to sequence it rather that it’s own internal sequencer, as I’ve already got a few songs written into the bsp etc. so i’ve set all 8 audio tracks of the Digitakt to the same midi channel, 10, which is the drum channel on the bsp, but I can’t seem to see how to limit the samples just to one key of the keyboard so they don’t all trigger at once.

I’m used to old Akai samplers and it’s called “Span” with those. hoping someone will understand what Im waffling on about! thanks in advance

Have you gone into the Control Center software yet to tweak the Beatstep Pro’s note values? That stuff is all user customizable so I would start there.

yes I have that set up… its the digitakt. each track is all the way up and down the keyboard… so each not plays all 8 samples

To control the DT tracks chromatically (one note per track) you have to send the first eight notes (by half step) starting from C0 on your controller (C0 = Track 1, C#0 = Track 2, D0 = Track 3, etc)

You also shouldn’t set up each channel to receive MIDI, but use the Autochannel.

3 Likes

Any other notes sent to the DT on the Autochannel will play whatever track is currently active chromatically. What you’re doing is telling every track to listen to the same MIDI channel…so they are all obeying and playing the notes the BSP sends on that one channel.

Maybe this would be a way to do it (not sure if I understood your question correctly):

In the Arturia MIDI Control Center:

• Connect the BSP
  • Go to Device Settings
  • Scroll all the way down to “Drum Map”
  • Here you can assign a dedicated MIDI Channel to each Drum Pad and also set the Note number.

Example: