HiHat tips and tricks (Hip Hop)

Hello fellow Octanauts I am a hip hop producer that uses the octatrack as my main and usually only beat machine. I was wondering if any one specifically hip hop producers know any way around the lack of human feeling and velocity in hi hats. I am well aware of the powerful lfo’s and routing them to pitch and start, but its still not quite cutting it for me. Please let me know if there are any other tips and tricks in making hi hats more acoustically human.

Thank you

1 Like

I would assume varying up velocity and nudges of the hits.

1 Like

play them in manually with no quantization and manually adjust the velocity to vary between near full and around 40-60% or whatever sounds nice to you. bonus points for having a second track of hats locked on the grid but very quiet.

3 Likes

You could set one of the LFOs to modulate the pitch and a second LFO to modulate the length then play with the swing %.

1 Like

Hello I appreciate the advice, how do you adjust the velocity on the machines, I thought there wasn’t velocity on the Octatrack

Thank you! I know about the LFO trick but where is swing %?

adjust your volume, same effect.

Hold down FUNC+BANK to access the Track Trig Edit and Swing should be the third option in the menu. 55-56% is a sweet spot for me around 93-95 bpm, after that the swing become a little unworkable.

2 Likes

Hello, I use Digitakt but this should be the same. I set my hats on grid, then adjust velocity for each trigs, then I use microtiming to make them all a little late, usually 1/64.
Sometime I also trig lock 2 HiHat sounds, or lock a pitch or hipass on 1 / 2.

2 Likes

Delay + LFO on delay dry/wet is cool too

1 Like

Use longer hats or cymbals, set they decay too short to play a nataraul sounding amount.

Now set lfo to random/sh, positive modulation on amp decay, now go back and forth between lfo amount and decay to get what you want.