How Digitakt v1.50 improved your sound? (showoff here)

I’m studying the v1.50 release and I think it’s really tasty: I’m curious to hear what artists better than me (there are many here) can do with it. I’d like to hear Digitakt performances where the new features are evident and can be properly evaluated

3 Likes

I am also interested in this topic and would like to see anything anyone has done specifically with the machine updates or in conjunction with the updated OS.

1 Like

8192 instead of 128 single cycles is a massive gain.
(Slice mode).
I haven’t been able to use the other modes productively yet because I work at a constant speed.
But they sure are good for surprising sound effects. I am going to find that out. So far everything has been usable somehow, even if not always as planned.

2 Likes

as someone who used the “fake timestretch” quite a lot with “hh top loops” for techno and house stuff, slice machine and repitch machine helped me save a lot of time/sanity and freed an LFO on top for me. modulating slice grid value also produces very interesting happy accidents. lately i’ve been obsessed with creating full tracks just with a DT and i may post the results to the “Your Digitakt only productions” thread in a couple of days :sweat_smile:

5 Likes

i also created lots of sample chains for my drumkits and singlecycle waveforms and i use them with the slice machine. modulating slice parameter while keeping the same “riff” this easy is insane! (i know you could do it with modulating sample slot previously but i was always shy to do it to avoid occupying so many sample slots, now i can have 128 different sounds just by occupying 2 slots)

5 Likes

Interesting, I think you should record a video showing your workflow.
Meanwhile I found this beat mangling video:

9 Likes

i like the mangling better than the sound being mangled.

2 Likes

i’ll do as soon as i get a proper stand that can hold my phone to shoot the video :sweat_smile: