Is this possible with a MIDI controller?

I’m kinda new to using MIDI outside of my DAW, SO I apologise if this is a basic question.

Is it possible to have the 8 Audio tracks triggered by 8 velocity sensitive pads on a MIDI controller, while the chromatic keyboard automatically switches to which ever audio track is selected on the DT?

(Is it possible to template this, or do you have to redo the MIDI assignments for each new project.?)

For example, when using a MIDI controller such as the APK Mini:

Also, I’m looking to buy a MIDI controller that would work well with the DT, similar to the Akai MPK mini - so any recommendations in that realm are appreciated. Thank you.:pray:

Each track does have a midi channel assignment option so as long as you can map the pads to different channels it should work. Eaves (Ivar) actually did a finger drumming video using a beatstep but I don’t know if it’s plugged into a DT (there’s a digitone in the video so…??)

The auto midi channel can be used to play whatever midi track is selected using a midi keyboard. By default it’s 10 but it’s customizable.

Set the pads on the controller to the midi note number 0-7 and they will trigger the 8 audio tracks.

Keyboard can still provide chromatic support for the selected track.

Make sure to set the controllers midi channel to the digitakt auto channel.

For that controller you’d need a midi host in between it and the digitakt. Digitakt doesn’t function as a usb midi host so you can’t just connect it to the dt.

3 Likes

The Novation Launchkey Mini mk3 has a TRS MIDI Out (Type A) 3.5mm jack. So no need for a Host in between. But you will have to buy a MIDI TRS DIN Cable and a standard 5-Pin DIN to 5-Pin DIN MIDI Cable.

Oh cool I didn’t remember that from the manual (notes 0-7).

It’s a really easy to miss quick description of the behavior early in the manual. I don’t think it gets mentioned after that

2 Likes

I don’t understand what you mean by ‘no host in between’.