Looking for a good midi controller to control external gear including 2 digitones and a digitakt

Hi there,

Sorry I’m pretty new to synths although have been playing piano for about 30 years.
I recently bought an Akai MPK249 to use in my office as an Ableton synth.

However I’m looking for a standalone controller to use at home with my two Digitone and one Digitakt setup. I don’t want to have to use the computer to sync up to my hardware. I also have a few hardware synth keyboards that I’d like to include in the setup but have no idea which controller would be good to use for for these.

I was looking at the Launchkey 37 MK3 as I’m trying to keep the price below £200.
Is that a decent controller for what I’m trying to do.

Most importantly I’m looking for something to input notes into my Elektron gear. Do I need any extra adapters to hook up the two Digitones and the Digitakt?

Also, is the MPK249 that I already have capable of doing this without the computer?

Cheers

Any keyboard with 5-pin DIN or 1/8" MIDI out can work as a controller keyboard for your Elektrons.

You can run a cable from the MIDI Out of your MPK to the MIDI IN of your first Elektron. Then from THRU to the MIDI IN to the next Elektron. Alternately, you could buy a MIDI Thru box, and send the keyboard’s output to each device in parallel.

You will need to tell each device to listen on a different MIDI channel, and then change the channel to the appropriate device on your controller keyboard to speak to it.

1 Like

Why not use the Digitakt to control everything. It offers 8 MIDI Channels to sequence all your gear.

It’s a fantastic step sequencer.

But if you want a traditional ‘piano’ way of entering notes, the Launchkey mk3 keyboards are great.

As noted above, your Akai should be able to handle the job as well via midi.

But seriously try the Digitakt or Digitone first. They both have great Step Sequencers built in.