Pattern/kit sysex manager?

Does anyone other than me feel the lack of such an utility?
Sadly I am not a programmer, but I would like to point the attention of the gifted ones on this major drawback of the otherwise excellent A4’s workflow.
I would really love to be able to move patterns and their related kits between saved global backups to build an ultimate global with the best ones.
I would love also an eagle view of the patterns’ note content

1 Like

I can handle Sounds & Kits, Patterns are too complex to analyze for me though, gotta wait until HQ provides some info how they are structured.

But I agree with you. The scenario you pointed out is a nightmare if there are locked Sounds in the patterns… But it would be easypeasy if an app can actually read the Patterns, and would be able to automatigically place the right Sounds into the right slots etc.

And yeah, this would allow for some pretty cool stuff with generative basslines and what have you.

1 Like

Thnx for your reply void.
I am quite confident that there will be a (not cheap) memory upgrade in the future, that maybe will make the above mentioned tasks more easy from inside the A4. But with the actual limit of 128 patterns/kits one fills the memory quite often, makes a backup, an empty reset and go on filling memory slots. So, before you know it you end up with a fair amount of global backups that are like monads.
Just having the option to backup individual patterns AND linked kits would make managing job, if tedious, at least doable.

ah but this is something you can do right now. In the SysEx Dump menu you have an option “PATTERN + KIT” to send individual patterns together with their linked kits.

Locked sounds are not backed up if you do this though. And yeah it’s a bit fiddly…

Anyway, I did an allnighter last night to take another look at A4 pattern data, and actually did figure it all out. There’s some minor mysteries, but it should be ready soon.

generative A4 patterns, oh yeah baby.

1 Like