Possible to "unquantize" operators?

Hi.

Just bought the digitone, and it seems a bit oversimplified compared to sytrus or fm8.

Is it possible to choose the freq/Hz of each operator in a linear manner without skipping from 0,25 to 0,50 to 0,75 etc.?

Not nagging (much), Just Wondering. Its a cool little synth :slight_smile:

…oh…they are very proud of these harmony ratios for now, i’m afraid…
and almost no way around it, if i imagine what it would be like without pre fixed ratios to scroll through that flawlessly with these encoders…

but once ob comes around, there might be all the inbetween options of traditional fm…
and some tweaked new algorithms might also give more open „wires“ once we reach 1.05 some day…

but for now, i love these ratio roll outs in glitching harmonies…pretty iconic sonic trick gimmick of the dn at the moment…

4 Likes

What makes you assume that ?

2 Likes

What he said.

Though, just because I’m an amateur mad scientist- perhaps, if you used a real fast LFO, you could alternate between two values with a speed that it would sonically average it out between the two?

I don’t know what I’m talking about, but if you know as little as I do about the science of sound then MAYBE it makes sense?

2 Likes

…well, it’s all in there…all the big inbetween ratios…but as a fact of fm, most of those inbetweens tend to end up really nasty, sonicwise…

so, hands on the machine, it’s a good thing in first place, to just skip all over and through that to jump around in blind sonic bliss…
no matter what…
but in software, why not open the gates to fm full on…?
no problem…end of the day, it’s all ur ears…
and so, yup, i assume that to come for sure…

no mad scientist here…

2 Likes

Hehe yeah i understand its from a musical perspective they have put it like that, & to make FM easy to use of course. Its Just, why not make it on/off when they can?