Sheet music for Octatrack

Friends,

As I’m staying within the OT, and only the OT, and the arranger mode within the OT is somewhat limited if you want a more flexible live performance (it is for me, at least), I’ve decided to write some sheet music for the Octatrack.

I don’t have the improvisation skills of many of you guys and can’t always just go with it when I play, but since I’m a pianist since I was a kid, I can read sheet music.

So I’ve decided to give it a go and create a sheet music template for performing with the Octatrack, much like you have sheet music when you play a more traditional intrument. It would typically contain active pattern, scenes and how to work them (precise or ad lib, for example), mutes and bars before you switch to the next pattern, and so on.

This will make it a lot easier for me to perform with the Octatrack. Now I can build my song within the instrument and play it with the same mindset as I play the piano, fingers working the keys and the eyes reading the sheets (when necessary).

Anyone else has any thoughts or experiences on working like this?

Interesting…

I’ll let you ruminate on what my thoughts and experiences might be…

Great idea. At the core what you are talking about is just documenting your projects well, and I think every OT knows the need for this - coming back to a project after a couple of months to total confusion is pretty common. Not to mention performing it back if it’s in any way structured or complex.

Would love to see the notation system you come up with. BTW, keeping OT and Pyramid then?

I’ll share it when I have it.
No, one of them has to go. Not sure which one yet. In the meantime, this is a way for me to find out how much the Octatrack means for me, compared to the Pyramid hooked up to something.
Gonna have to sell one or the other pretty soon, though.