The lighting thread

A place to talk about show and studio lighting, light design and light control, whether that’s Hue bulbs, midi-driven light shows on your small DJ-style rig, or the ground packages for your next tour :wink:

I didn’t see a dedicated thread, and I figured we should have one. I’m a relative lighting novice — self-taught over the past five years — but I run a small venue in Helsinki with about 40 instruments plus a bunch of Hue house lights, and I’m happy to answer questions if I can.

5 Likes

I’ll start off with some hard-learned opinions:

Of all the home automation wireless lighting systems, the Hues are the only ones worth touching (possibly with the Ikea Tradfri bulbs). You’re paying for the software stack, and while I have plenty of complaints still, all the others are much more likely to be unreliable and have weird failure modes. Buy once.

Cheap wireless DMX is also wildly unreliable. If you really need wireless, pony up for the Lumen Radio CRMX hardware. If you don’t need it badly enough to go there, it’s probably worth figuring out another option if you’re planning on using it live.

In general, “you get what you pay for” is pretty brutal in lighting. All the DJ level kit is great for flashing lights and dancing (obviously), but if you need good color mixing and fine dimming — anything approaching theater-style work — or video compatibility so you don’t get annoying flicker/bar artifacts, you’re going to have to pay. Money also buys you reliability, like crazy.

3 Likes

What are the brightest and warmest salt lamps and other types with a similar warmth for a good price?

Not something I’ve looked at, but you should be able to put any 2800k warm white bulb in a salt lamp that will fit, right?

1 Like