The One That Got Away

In 1994 or so I got the electronic music bug. Unfortunately I was just a little too much of a knucklehead to actually make it happen. I can be tenacious if not bright so over the next five years I bought myself a few sweet pieces before finally giving up in 2001. I won’t bore you with too many details but 20some years ago I had the following:

Ensoniq EPS16+
OG Nord Lead
Roland R70
Roland SH101
Arp Solus
Electribe ER-1

Although I’ve made no moves to replace any of them I really wish I would have held on to the Nord and the ER-1. The Nord sounded so great despite my ineptitude and the ER-1 is the one piece of gear on that whole list that I sort of understood and even had a bit of a bond with. Had I just held on for another year or two I’d have figured out how to use the internet to educate myself like I’ve been doing for the past three years or so. Oh well, we live and we learn.

Obviously if I was all nostalgic I could probably own any/all of those in fairly short order. But I’m really not and would rather just move forward than try to show these old devices that I got what it takes now. You can never go home :0)

What sweet gear got away from you? Do you think you’ll try to get it back?

3 Likes

Yamaha CS-80.

Getting it back. No chance at £25k-£50K

4 Likes

You’re kidding

1 Like

No. I had it way back in the early 80’s.

2 Likes

Wow! Really?

2 Likes

Stop rubbing it in :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Good lord! That is absolutely the unobtainium at this point.

4 Likes

Your not helping :frowning:

4 Likes

Well at least you lived your CS-80’s I’ll get my coat.

4 Likes

It weighed a ton and i remember helping the buyer down a few stairs. I was an idiot i know.

2 Likes

The Yamaha FS1R was one that might fit the bill here. Not quite CS80 levels mind you…