What hardware do you use to mix/record your tracks?

Hey everyone,

I’m new to this world, and to Digitakt in particular. I’m happily making tracks on it, but I’m wondering what people use to mix and record their tracks other than a DAW?

I ask because I want to stay hardware-only (I’m a software engineer; I do enough staring at screens). I did see, for example, the 1010 Music Blue Box, which looks like a viable device for this sort of thing.

Any suggestions appreciated!

1 Like

Are you just looking to record the DT or do you plan to add other gear to the setup? Do you want multitracking or just want to record a single stereo source?

I’ve had good results with the Zooms H6 and H1n (when recording a few or only a single input) and the TX-6 for more inputs.

I do a little clean up afterwards in Live, but not much, and I don’t keep a computer set up in the studio area (usually I do stuff in batches after a decent chunk of tracks are recorded onto the flash card in question).

4 Likes

This has been discussed in many, many other threads on here. I’d suggest searching and finding one of those because a lot of answers have been given already for people in very similar use cases. Hope that helps!

2 Likes

I’m looking to add a synth, too. So I guess I’d run the synth and the 'takt through a mixer like the Bluebox. It’s the part after that I’m trying to suss out. I’m new to this and don’t even know anything about mixing/mastering yet, merely that it’s a thing. (I’m assuming stuff that you make on the 'takt isn’t production-ready, i.e. there always is some sort of post-'takt mixing process? I may be wrong…)

Thanks, I’ll do that!

Ah so when you say a little clean-up, there’s not necessarily some massive, complex mixing scenario I’m envisaging? Can tracks come straight off the Digitakt and be production-ready? I’m new to music production and just automatically assumed there was a mixing/mastering process I’d yet to get my head around. Thanks!

Zoom H6.

1 Like